PDA

View Full Version : The Luminato Reel

Johann
06-07-2009, 12:46 PM
Produced in association with ONF/NFB, The Luminato Reel is labelled "A film festival within the Festival".
"Luminato" is a festival of arts + creativity that is in full swing in Toronto every year at this time.
This is my first time at Luminato, and I went to the NFB mediatheque to see a film, REDBALL Project. I enjoyed it, but some of the "personalities" in the film go a little overboard in their worship of the red ball in question. It's an "interactive visual art project" that has multiple "meanings" to each person who views it.

The filmmaker/artist (Kurt Perschke) gives us insight into how he designed the huge inflated red ball, what he sees in the balls' representation/purpose, and how he revels in the balls' success as a large urban art oddity that everybody has an opinion on in Chicago, where the ball was inflated, installed, deflated and removed to another location, again and again, and people loved it in the city. Big hit. People of all types had an opinion of it if they crossed paths with it. Some follow & take note of the balls' location all over the city, wherever it goes, because it heightens that particular locales' profile.
It's created a cult of "Red Ball Followers", from kids to punks (some nice punk music thrown on at one point for effect), to curmudgeons to dogs, the red ball is quite the phenom in Chicago. It is squeezed between buildings, landmarks or just any old structure they decide to place it near, in, or on.

It's in Toronto now and I'm sure people are taking notice.
Mr. Perschke was at the Hard Rock Cafe last Saturday to talk about his project with other speakers. I was too late to get over there. (And it was free- quite a few events at Luminato are free. It's just a matter of getting your butt to the venues).

Johann
06-07-2009, 02:57 PM
Just got back from an amazing gallery showcasing gorgeous paintings by Raphael Mazzucco at Burroughes Building (639 Queen St. West)