PDA

View Full Version : Film School, Jellyfish, GRE, etc.

oscar jubis
05-11-2008, 01:54 AM
I have decided to return to the University of Miami 27 years after I graduated with a major in sociology and anthropology. One of the courses I took during my final year was History of Motion Pictures with Stephen Bowles, Ph. D., who is still teaching there. I have enrolled in a graduate-level course, Film Directors, which is being taught by Dr. William Rothman. He hasn't revealed who are the directors that will be the focus of our study beginning wednesday. Given that Rothman has written one of the best books on Hitchcock, it makes sense that the "master of suspense" will be one of the directors under scrutiny. I'll be taking this course partly as a way to prove to myself that I belong in academia. I have yet to actually apply to Graduate School. If I do well and I enjoy it, I would immediately submit writing samples and other admission requirements. Among them, a good score on the test called the GRE. Now this is a bit scary to me. I didn't have to take the GRE or any other test to gain admission to Graduate School at Ohio State in 1981. The test involves not only writing two essays on subjects about which I have little knowledge or interest, but also completing a math test. Basically I'm going to have to spend significant time studying algebra and other fun subjects if I want to do well enough to make it into film school.