PDA

View Full Version : Film Sales Drop

Fan of Kubrick
05-27-2005, 11:41 PM
Technology these days has advanced so much from the time of the Golden Age of Hollywood, that people are able to sit at home and watch a movie in all its brilliance on a widescreen 50-inch TV with surround sound speakers. People choose to stay at home and play video games or write e-mail rather than go to a movie at an "inconvenient" time. Sure, I can see things from their point of view: a lot of moviegoers are also young students, and they have to fit studying and homework into their schedule. But being a student myself, I find that I have plenty of time to attend such extensive showings as the San Francisco International Film Festival. The reason I can attend 13 movies over two weeks and juggle school while other students can't find the time to go to three movies a year? I don't spend twenty hours a week playing Playstation 2 or XBox. Do I watched DVDs? Of course I do. But I spend my time watching classics that I wasn't alive to see in theatres.